NOT a myth!

I apologize for posting after such a loooooong time.

I had recorded my observations though in relation to my previous post. So here are my observations.

  • As the oil that I used was pure mineral engine oil (which has shorter life but acts better for smaller vehicles), it started showing off its colors after 3500 km.
  • After it completed around 3300 km, the NVH (Noise-Vibration-Harshness) levels started increasing exponentially. The rise was easily noticeable.
  • Gear shifts started to get stuck especially while moving to lower gears (4-3-2-1) simultaneously.
  • After 4000 km, the pickup dropped considerably and small climbs in the city required gear shifts to lower ones.

In that sense, it was impossible to carry on with the same engine oil as that would have damaged the engine considerably and would have been irrecoverable (though I personally feel it could have easily stretched till 5000 km at the cost of performance). But as I wanted to protect the engine, I decided to change the engine oil at around 4200 km.

Conclusion: Though not exactly at 2500 km, you at least need to change the oil at 3000 km to keep the engine perfectly humming as per my observation on Bajaj Platina which already completed around 80k km.

PS: The observations are only for mineral oil. I haven’t checked with semi-synthetic engine oil. I have purchased new bike, Bajaj Avenger Cruise (220 cc) and using fully synthetic engine oil for the same.

I will keep sharing my experiences and any tips that I learn to enhance biking experience. Feel free to suggest anything in the comments…

Thanks!

Leave a Reply

