Love your bike and it will love you back

I was little hesitant when we (me and my father) went to book a Bajaj Platina, a 100 CC bike in 2006. It was a gift from my father to me on completing engineering course 🙂

This was the era when CBZ and Pulsar were zooming on the Indian roads. There was a latent desire somewhere in my mind to have such bike. My Dad was not in favor of getting a powerful bike (firstly due to safety and secondly it was needless to spend such a huge amount only on bike in those days).

Finally, with mixed emotions, we bought a Bajaj Platina for me.

It is only after riding it I realize how correct he was in his decision. The bike was beautifully sculpted and also had reasonable power and pickup. But the best part that I liked was its superb mileage. We started getting 70-77 kmpl after second servicing. Overwhelmed with this, I developed a hobby to get maximum mileage from my bike for which I tried numerous ways. Till date, I was able to extract 90.58 kmpl as maximum mileage from it.

Curious??? Here is what I do to achieve this.

  1. Keep bike’s chain clean and well lubricated (lubricate it after every 15 days)
  2. Keep optimum air pressure in tyres.
  3. Strictly drive at speeds less than 55 kmph.
  4. Use proper gears (1st gear: 0-10, 2nd gear: 10-20, 3rd gear: 20-30, 4th gear: 30+)
  5. Use clutch to minimum i.e., only during gear shift. I usually change to Neutral when I know I am going to stop. Exceptions: Emergency breaking.
  6. Try to use breaks as less as possible. I know it is difficult to follow in cities but if you are on proper gear and speed, you can easily anticipate and adjust your speed to avoid breaking. (Do not dash somebody and say Abhijit told not to use breaks while driving 🙂 )
  7. Shut off engine at signals or any stoppages when you are going to stop for more than 10 seconds. New generation bikes take only 3 seconds worth of Petrol to start. Hence, if you keep your engine running for any time more than 3 seconds is wastage. Mind it, it’s worth and every second is important.
  8. Keep idle running speed of engine to minimum (just to keep it running).
  9. Use good quality oil (Castrol/Motul/Shell/Mobil). I change it by myself after every 2500 km instead of leaving it to mechanic as some of them fill used or cheap quality oils.
  10. Service your vehicle i.e., change air filter, oil filter, clean carburettor and lubricate after every 5000 km. This can be left to mechanic.
  11. Most important, tune your carburettor for optimum fuel efficiency. Check following link for this:
    http://bikeadvice.in/tuning-carburetor-optimal-performance-fuel-efficiency/

It is necessary that you do point #11 by yourself (though you may not succeed the first time but you will eventually get the perfect combination). Do not leave it to a local mechanic as they won’t do it with passion (my mileage dropped to 60 after getting it done from a local mechanic which I had to rectify again).

Of course, being a human, I can’t follow all of them every time (otherwise would have got 100+ mileage 🙂 ) but try to follow most of the points for most of the time.

Finally, it’s you the reader who will add to my knowledge. So comments are welcome!!!

Enjoy Biking…

Leave a Reply

